To view or pay your property tax bill, please click here.

Major Shawn McManus 

Capt. Dawn Powell

Mailing Address:

Tax Collector, Parish of St. Tammany
P.O. Box 608
Covington, LA 70434

Phone: 985-809-8217
Email Address:

By virtue of Louisiana State law the Sheriff in each residing parish is responsible for the collection of property taxes. The STPSO Property Tax Division is charged with this duty for all unincorporated areas of the parish and is also uniquely responsible for the collection of these taxes for the municipalities of Slidell, Mandeville, Covington, Abita Springs, Pearl River and Madisonville under separate contract.

In addition to property tax collections, the Property Tax Department handles all Louisiana Tax Commission changes to the tax roll, provides property tax research certificates and redemptions of property sold at our annual tax sale. For customer convenience, this department also assists the Sales Tax and Occupational License Departments of the STPSO by accepting sales tax payments, issuing temporary licenses for businesses and collecting fees on Alcoholic Beverage Licenses that are approved by the Parish Government.

Many enhancements have been made to our collection process in an effort to improve efficiency and service to the numerous parish-based taxing bodies we collect for, as well as our resident and non-resident property owners. These enhancements include:

  • Electronic collection of payments from mortgage companies 

  • Electronic processing of payments received via the mail through a “lockbox” arrangement with the financial institution serving as our fiscal agent

Payments for these services can be made in person at the following locations between the hours of 8:00 am - 4:30 pm Monday - Friday: 

St. Tammany Parish Justice Center
701 N. Columbia St.
Covington, LA

St. Tammany Parish Sheriff's Administrative Building
300 Brownswitch Rd.
Slidell, LA